top of page

Horchata Latte & Horchata Cold Brew Recipes

Peet's coffee recently released their Oat Milk Horchata Latte AND Stumptown came out with an Oat Milk Horchata Cold Brew. It's safe to say I'm OBSESSED with both. My bank account isn't loving the $4-6 per day habit so I knew I had to find a way to make it at home for less.



If you're not familiar with horchata, it's a drink that originated in Central America and is made from jicaro seeds ground with rice and spices such as ground cocoa, cinnamon, sesame seeds, nutmeg, tiger nuts and vanilla. Creamy, sweet and kinda spicy it reminds me of rice pudding. It pairs perfectly with espresso in my opinion!


Whether you like your coffee hot or iced I think you'll love both of these as much as I do. I added maple syrup as the sweetener, ground cinnamon and Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides for a protein boost. You can leave them out if you're vegan, don't have them or don't like them.


Horchata Latte

1-2 shots of espresso

6-10 oz milk of choice (I prefer oat or almond)

1/4-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2-1 tbsp maple syrup

1/4 tsp vanilla extract


Add maple syrup to bottom of coffee mug, pull 1-2 shots of espresso on top. Stir to combine. Combine milk and cinnamon in milk frother or heat milk and whisk together. Pour on top of espresso and top with a sprinkle of cinnamon. Add more or less cinnamon and syrup to taste.



Horchata Cold Brew

8 oz cold brew coffee

4 oz milk

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp maple syrup or 1-2 dates soaked, pits removed and drained

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp unsweetened cashew or almond butter

1-2 scoops Vital Proteins collagen peptides (optional)


Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on low, increasing to high speed for 1-2 minutes until frothy and pour over ice! If you don't have a blender, use maple syrup instead of dates and leave out the cashew or almond butter, whisk to combine.



I mean check out that froth!


Have you tried horchata? Or the latte from Peets? If you make this tag me on insta, I love seeing you recreate my recipes!

397 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page